Pierre Ready To Race With Champions

So Dakar is over for another year and F1 hasn’t started yet, but if you’re around this weekend, there’s plenty of racing going down in Mexico!

Our very own Pierre Gasly will make his debut at the legendary Race of Champions, which this year is hosted by Mexico City’s Autodrómo Hermanos Rodríguez, home of the Mexican Grand Prix.

Joining forces with Le Mans winner, Loïc Duval, as Team France, Pierre will compete against a mega line up of racing legends and ROC regulars, including Sebastian Vettel, David Coulthard, Tom Kristensen and Helio Castroneves together with Mick Schumacher, Lucas Di Grassi and Mexican drivers Memo Rojas, Daniel Suárez, Benito Guerra and Patricio O’Ward.

The circuit’s Foro Sol amphitheatre will see the drivers battle it out in identical supercars in a true test of skills. Cars include the KTM X-Bow, the Whelen NASCAR, the Radical SR3 RSX and the Ariel Atom, along with other superfast cars picked especially for the event. 

Gearing up for the event, Pierre said. “It’s a big honour to be taking part in the Race of Champions for the first time. I’ve known about the event for many years and I’m excited to see how it works first-hand at last.

I know France has a rich tradition of driving success at the event so I’m looking forward to aiming for another strong performance in partnership with Loïc in the ROC Nations Cup. Most of all, I’m looking forward to hearing the noise of the Mexican crowds. I know the Foro Sol well from Formula 1, it’s a spectacular venue and we will all put on a great show for the fans.”

Dating back 30 years, the Race of Champions unites the world’s greatest drivers from motorsport’s biggest disciplines, including Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, Le Mans and Rally X, making it essential viewing for motorsports fans around the world.

It’s this – along with the sheer fun of it – that attracts global motorsports stars to get behind the wheel. Michael Schumacher, Fernando Alonso, Daniel Ricciardo and Jenson Button have all taken part in previous years as have Sebastien Loeb, Sebastien Ogier, Colin McRae, Mick Doohan and Valentino Rossi.

This year’s event will run for two days, kicking off on Saturday 19th January with ROC Mexico, followed by the ROC Nations Cup and the Stadium Super Trucks ROC Final. Sunday brings the Race of Champions itself, where the drivers will battle for their own bragging rights as well as the coveted title.

For more information, visit