US GP: Race Numbers

Despite having not been around for all that long, the Circuit of the Americas has swiftly established a reputation as one of the better tracks on the current F1 calendar. Here are your United States Grand Prix Race Numbers.

Considered a pick-and-mix of features from various other popular circuits, COTA delivers exciting racing and rarely a dull moment. Combined with the vast crowd and located in a city that has genuinely embraced the United States Grand Prix, F1's week in Austin is one everyone looks forward to. To kick things off, here's a few US Grand Prix statistics.

1 - Championship won at COTA. We lifted the 2012 Constructors' Championship title in Austin. Sadly, the party had to wait as there was a headlong rush to get packed down and off to São Paulo for the Brazilian Grand Prix. The party after that was... spectacular.

1.923 seconds. Mark Webber's stationary time during his pitstop at COTA in 2013. It was the first sub-two seconds pitstop in F1 history and still the record.

2 - pole positions for the Team in 2012 and 2013, courtesy of Sebastian Vettel. Nico Rosberg grabbed pole last year.

3 - US Grand Prix victories for Lewis Hamilton. He won the last race at Indianapolis in 2007 and has bagged two of the three at COTA, winning for McLaren in 2012 and Mercedes in 2014. Sebastian Vettel is the only other F1 winner on this circuit – he won for us in 2013 on his way to nine consecutive victories. Ah, those were the days...

4 - This is the fourth running of the United States Grand Prix at COTA. The circuit was purpose-built for the race and hosted its first USGP in 2012.

5 - US Grand Prix victories for Michael Schumacher – and all of them at Indianapolis. It might have been six, had he not slowed to accommodate a Ferrari formation finish in 2002, handing the victory – by 0.011 seconds – to team-mate Rubens Barrichello.

6 - circuits have hosted the United States Grand Prix. They are: Sebring (1959), Riverside (1960), Watkins Glen (1961-1980), Phoenix (1989-1991), Indianapolis (2000-2007) and now COTA.

7 - possibly. The Drivers' Championship has been decided six times on US soil. Jack Brabham became Australia's first F1 world champion at Sebring in 1959. Jochen Rindt became its only posthumous world champion at Watkins Glen in 1970 when Jacky Ickx – his rival for the title – could only finish fourth. Emerson Fittipaldi and Niki Lauda won the titles at Watkins Glen in 1974 and 1977 respectively. Nelson Piquet and Keke Rosberg also won championships in the States – but did so at the Las Vegas Grand Prix, not the US Grand Prix. Hamilton has a good chance of becoming the seventh this weekend. He needs to score three points more than Nico Rosberg and nine points more than Sebastian Vettel.

9 - United States Grand Prix wins for Ferrari. Also a record. They're one ahead of Lotus and McLaren.

37 - United States Grands Prix on the F1 calendar to date. That excludes F1 calendar races taking place under different names in the USA. (We've had the US Grand Prix West at Long Beach, the Detroit Grand Prix, the Dallas Grand Prix and the Las Vegas Grand Prix. Also, between 1950 and 1960 the Indy 500 counted as part of the World Championship – though it wasn't really).

56 - laps of COTA on Sunday.

200 - This weekend's race in Austin marks our 200th in Formula One... But more of that to follow ;)

1210km - The distance between Austin and our next port of call: Mexico City.